The Sad Song Co, Heartwork & Ravetank. The Lamb, Devizes 16th Feb 2018.

Any plans to record every gig I have attended have long since been abandoned, gigging hasn’t just become my hobby, it’s become my life’s pleasure, my escape and my happy place, you could rightfully add obsession to the list. So I’ve neglected to review scores of gigs and new releases.
However my first visit to The Lamb in Devizes has really encapsulated why I’ve become such a fanatic. This venue has acted as a cradle for so many young musicians, helping to set them on their path to larger audiences. It’s also a firm favourite for touring musicians who know they’ll receive a warm welcome.
This, I’m embarrassed to say wasn’t something I was aware of as I trudged up the stairs and entered the room for the first time, being rather grumpy after a tedious drive. I was greeted by the man behind legendary promoter ‘Sheer Music’, the inspirational Mr Kieran J Moore. If you’ve never met him please do your best to make his acquaintance, I don’t think I’ve ever met someone so kind, enthusiastic and positive. Kieran quickly explained to me that this room had played host to all my favourite artists, and told me to peruse the wall of fame, which consisted of photos going back many years. I couldn’t help chortling at the pictures of young men with long hair. Faces that have become my heroes. Faces of some people I now miraculously call my friends. Kieran stated that ‘This is where the magic happens’. Forgive my scepticism but I wasn’t entirely convinced.
However the room quickly began to fill. Sheer Music has built up a loyal following over the years, so there were many friends in the audience, fostering a sense of community and cohesion. It makes you feel at ease and safe. There were also newbies buying tickets on the door which is a really encouraging sign for grass roots music.
First to take the stage was Ravetank, singing short and snappy songs about alcohol, getting drunk, getting drunk with friends, friendship, um and a dog. The audience were quick to join in and more than willing to have fun. But always showing respect by listening to the performer.
The wonderful Heartwork aka Dan O’Dell was next up. Delivering beautiful melodies, coupled with lyrics so personal they have an almost visceral effect on the listener. However Heartwork’s relaxed, confident, self deprecating stage presence expertly diffused any melancholia. I’d thoroughly recommend that you wrap your ears around his 2017 album ‘Things I wish I’d said’. You may well also spot the very talented B-Sydes if you listen carefully.

https://heartworkmusic.bandcamp.com/album/things-i-wish-id-said

The headline act was ‘The Sad Song Co.’ Nigel Powell and his old band mate from The Unbelievable Truth Jason Moulster were touring the new album ‘Worth’. Which has come hot on the heels of the stunning concept album ‘in amber’ set in an old people’s home. If you fancy a good cry I’d highly recommend it, it’s cathartic and addresses sad subjects with bitter sweet poignancy.

The new album ‘Worth’ captures a very happy phase in Nigel’s life in which he explores the meaning of life and quite simply his own worth to the world and those close to him. The value of love, and collective action. Songs such as ‘I don’t see it’ are uplifting,  acknowledging people in pain giving them hope and strength to get through the bad times. So the messages in these songs are powerful and will undoubtedly be of relevance to the listener. The mighty Chris T-T also leant a hand with some of the lyrics on the album. ‘What you make of it’ is a particular favourite.

The atmosphere in the room was electric, I can honestly say we all listened with rapt attention. I hope no one noticed the tears rolling down my face during my favourite song ‘Meet you there’, and I particularly enjoyed being treated to a song from his old band the Unbelievable Truth. For an encore Nigel chose two Ben Folds songs. The vibe in the room was so friendly that Nigel decided to organise a sing along, we all gladly complied filling in with the bah, bah bah bah bah’s at the end of ‘Army’.

The ‘Sheer Family’ magic created an unforgettable finale, Nigel again chose a Ben Folds song, and a lone voice in the audience sang the harmonies beautifully, our mystery vocalist was none other than Mr Phil Cooper, who has an album coming out next month.

I left knowing that I’d experienced something very special indeed. I was still trying to process it at 3 am! Sheer Music uses the tag ‘gig family’ and this is no affectation. Kieran welcomes old and new audience members as friends, which is wonderfully disarming, and by the end of the evening it felt as if we were all part of something special. Long may the ‘gig father’ continue to provide such an invaluable showcase for hard working touring artists. Without grass roots promoters like Sheer the music industry would lose truly innovative artists who are essential to its continuation.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Sad Song Co, Heartwork & Ravetank. The Lamb, Devizes 16th Feb 2018.

Leave a comment